Restoring a Recycled (Deleted) File

Issue/Question

How do I restore a file that was previously moved to the Recycle Bin (deleted)?

Environment

  • OU Campus

Resolution

 Note: This is only applicable to files removed by selecting Move to Recycle Bin (  ) from the file's File operations. There currently is no way to recover files lost when deleting a folder.

  1. Login to OU Campus.
  2. Using the top navigation, hover over Content (  ) and select Recycle Bin (  ).
  3. You should now see a list of recycled files.
  4. Use the Filter (  ) box to help find the file needing to be restored.
    • You can filter on the any part of the path to the file, like funnymonkeys/hybrid, to see a list of all files in a specific folder or sub-folder.
    •  Note: The file may be named slightly different in the Recycle Bin than it was named originally, normally a dash ( - ) and a number. will be appended. This may happen if another file (potentially from other sites) was recycled with the same name.
  5. Once the file to be restored has been located, hover over its row and select Restore (  ) from the Options column.
  6. Confirm the restoration by clicking the Restore button on the pop-up message.
  7. The file should now be restored to its original folder, using its original name.
     Note: If you receive the error A file with the same name exists on staging it means a file with the same name already exists in the folder being restored to. If the restored file is preferred over the existing file, do the following.
    1. Navigate to the path in the Recycle Bin file's Original Path column.
    2. Locate the file with the same name as the file to be restored.
    3. Hover over the file and select File > Move to Recycle Bin from the Options column.
      1. Alternatively, select File > Rename from the Options column, and change its name slightly.
    4. Repeat steps 2 - 7above.

 

Details

Article ID: 2204
Created
Wed 6/29/16 2:45 PM
Modified
Thu 1/16/20 8:27 AM

Related Articles (1)