WKU ITS Recommended Zoom Security Settings

Issue/Question

What are the recommended security settings for a Zoom meeting?

Environment

  • Zoom

Resolution

WKU ITS suggests implementing at least one of the following options to secure your Zoom meeting. Implementing even just one of these options can greatly increase the security of your meeting and prevent unwanted participants from entering and distracting others.
As of March 26th 2020, the screen sharing settings within your account have automatically defaulted to Only Host. Learn about re-enabling participant sharing for individual meetings here.
  •  Prevent participants from sharing content
    • This would prevent someone from sharing something inappropriate on their screen.
       
  • Require a password for the meeting
    • This option is available when scheduling a Zoom meeting.
    • This password must also be shared with your participants, but therefore can easily be shared again by those participants to outside unwanted participants.
       
  • Require registration
    • This means that you would have to send out a registration to your participants and the participants would need to register. While this cannot control behavior within the meeting, it does allow for more information should there become an issue, meaning that you could see who the user is and their associated email address.
       
  • Enable a waiting room when scheduling individual or all meetings
    • This option is available when scheduling a Zoom meeting.
    • The meeting host can admit attendees one-by-one or hold all attendees in the waiting room and admit them all at once.
      Note: If the Waiting Room option is enabled, Join Before Host will not work for that meeting as these two functions perform opposing tasks.
       
  • Allow only WKU authenticated users to enter the session
    • Participants would be required to log into their WKU-licensed Zoom account with their WKU faculty/staff or Topper email to gain access to the session. This does not control behavior within the session, but it does allow for more information should there become an issue.
       
  • Lock the session
    • Once you are happy with the present participants in your session you may choose to lock the session to prevent anyone else from entering.
      Note: If you have participants that are late to the session they may be locked out. You can unlock the session to let them enter and then re-lock once they've joined. You can also remove participants even after locking a session. 

Details

Article ID: 3532
Created
Thu 3/26/20 3:43 PM
Modified
Wed 4/8/20 1:57 PM